Rising Stars: Hans Christian Aavik, Violin

Rising Stars: Hans Christian Aavik, Violin


Production Date: 08/12/2022
49 Min
Available in 4K

Estonian Violinst Hans Christian Aavik, First Prize winner of the 2022 Carl Nielsen International Competition, has been described as "one of Europe's most exciting young talents". In this showcase, part of the Rising Stars series on STAGE+, he is joined by his regular chamber partner, Karolina Aavik. They perform two 20th-century works composed within a few years of one another – George Enescu's 1926 Violin Sonata No. 3 and Aelita's Suite (1932) by Estonian composer Eduard Oja – alongside a violin and piano version of O Magnum Mysterium by contemporary American composer Morten Lauridsen.

Hans Christian Aavik (Violin), Karolina Aavik (Piano)

Venues, Festivals & Series