John Storgårds conducts Nielsen, Sibelius and Say

John Storgårds conducts Nielsen, Sibelius and Say

Lucas & Arthur Jussen

Production Date: 16/01/2022
93 Min
Available in 4K

In his "Anka Kuşu" Concerto, the second work Fazil Say has composed for Lucas and Arthur Jussen, catchy jazz rhythms are combined with memorable melodies and innovative instrumental effects. The Jussen brothers – undoubtedly the most successful young pianist duo in the classical world today – prove persuasive advocates for the piece here in its premiere performance. To complete the programme, the Munich Philharmonic and conductor John Storgårds juxtapose the brilliant portrayal of a dawn in Nielsen's tone poem Helios with the twilight of Sibelius's career as a composer: he stopped composed altogether shortly after completing his final two symphonies, in which his skill at creating atmospheric images and texture reached a highpoint.

Arthur Jussen (Piano), Lucas Jussen (Piano)
Munich Philharmonic
John Storgårds