Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla conducts Šerkšnytė, Haydn & Beethoven

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla conducts Šerkšnytė, Haydn & Beethoven

With Kian Soltani

Production Date: 06/07/2020
76 Min

Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla's career reached a peak in 2016 with her appointment as Music Director of the City of Birmingham Symphony Orchestra at the age of 29. In June 2020, she conducted this programme with the Konzerthausorchester Berlin at the Konzerthaus Dortmund, where at the time she was an "exclusive artist". The concert, staged under Covid restrictions, charts a path from the bracing De Profundis by Gražinytė-Tyla's Lithuanian Raminta Šerkšnytė via Haydn's graceful First Cello Concerto to Beethoven's witty and ingenious Fourth Symphony. The energy, care and subtle musicality with which both Gražinytė-Tyla and her soloist, Kian Soltani, devoted themselves to the works made for moving evening in difficult times.

Kian Soltani (Cello)
Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Mirga Gražinytė-Tyla

Venues, Festivals & Series