London Philharmonic Orchestra


The London Philharmonic Orchestra (LPO) is one of five permanent symphony orchestras based in London. It was founded by the conductors Sir Thomas Beecham and Malcolm Sargent in 1932 and is based in the Royal Festival Hall. The Orchestra has been headed by many of the great names in the conducting world, including Sir Adrian Boult, Bernard Haitink, Sir Georg Solti, Klaus Tennstedt and Kurt Masur. The Orchestra's current Principal Conductor is Vladimir Jurowski, appointed in 2007. In July 2019 Edward Gardner was announced as the Orchestra's next Principal Conductor: he will take up the position when Jurowski's tenure comes to an end in September 2021. Karina Canellakis took up the role of Principal Guest Conductor in September 2020.