Europakonzert 2017 from Paphos – with Mariss Jansons

Europakonzert 2017 from Paphos – with Mariss Jansons

Berliner Philharmoniker

Production Date: 01/01/2017
89 Min
Available in Dolby Atmos

The 2017 Europakonzert takes the Berliner Philharmoniker to the port city of Paphos in Cyprus, the birthplace of Aphrodite. The goddess of beauty and love, along with the scenery surrounding the restored Paphos Castle, could not be more fitting for the occasion, marking the orchestra's birthday celebration on May 1. Mariss Jansons, a longtime friend of the Berliner Philharmoniker, who was made an honourary member in 2018, conducts works by Carl Maria von Weber and Antonín Dvořák. At his side, the orchestra's principal clarinetist Andreas Ottensamer shines as soloist in von Weber's Clarinet Concerto No. 1, while Dvořák's Eighth Symphony, with its close-to-nature character, fits ideally into the setting of the open-air concert.

Andreas Ottensamer (Clarinet)
Berliner Philharmoniker
Mariss Jansons