Grigory Sokolov – Haydn Sonatas & Schubert Impromptus

Grigory Sokolov – Haydn Sonatas & Schubert Impromptus

Esterházy Palace

Production Date: 10/08/2018
128 Min
Available in 4K

Known for the dedication to his repertoire, Russian master pianist Grigory Sokolov presents a meticulously assembled Austrian programme. Haydn’s later sonatas mark the beginning of his use of the Viennese Classical Style and are perfectly complemented here by Schubert’s Impromptus that act as an extension of the sonatas, to form one seamless musical canvas. The concentrated performance is a masterclass in technical skill, musical beauty, and pianistic virtuosity. Much like the composers, Sokolov has made a significant mark on today’s classical world and this recital at the Haydnsaal in the Esterházy Palace in Eisenstadt (where Haydn worked for nearly 30 years), confirms his reputation as one of the finest pianists of our time.

Grigory Sokolov (Piano)