The Berliner Philharmoniker Turn 125

The Berliner Philharmoniker Turn 125

Europakonzert 2007

Production Date: 01/05/2007
103 Min

On the first of May, the Berliner Philharmoniker celebrates its birthday with the Europakonzert, held in a different European city of culture every year. For their 125th anniversary, the celebrations are held in their hometown at the Kabelwerk Oberspree, an impressive industrial monument from the late 19th century. Simon Rattle conducts works that are closely linked to the orchestra's founding era. Richard Wagner's Prelude from Parsifal was performed by the Orchestra shortly after its premiere in 1882. In addition, Johannes Brahms himself once performed his works with the orchestra. Before Brahms' Fourth Symphony is heard as the crowning finale, soloists Lisa Batiashvili and Truls Mørk perform Brahms' Double Concerto.

Lisa Batiashvili (Violin), Truls Mørk (Cello)
Berliner Philharmoniker
Sir Simon Rattle