Krystian Zimerman & Simon Rattle: The Beethoven Piano Concertos

Krystian Zimerman & Simon Rattle: The Beethoven Piano Concertos

LSO St. Luke's

Production Date: 13/12/2020
189 Min
Available in Dolby Atmos

To celebrate Beethoven's 250th anniversary, Krystian Zimerman joins the London Symphonic Orchestra under the baton of Simon Rattle to perform the composer's five piano concertos. Written between 1795 and 1809, they are some of Beethoven's most important works. Ground-breaking in their nature, they trace the development of the concerto through a key period in its history: themes grow in number, the piano writing becomes richer and more complex, the orchestra steps further into the spotlight and harmonies become richer and more expressive. And although 30 years separate this cycle from Zimerman's previous one, the Polish pianist's impeccable touch and technique remain the same, bringing special insights to these ever-rewarding works.

Krystian Zimerman (Piano)
London Symphony Orchestra
Sir Simon Rattle

Venues, Festivals & Series