Karajan conducts Bach – with Anne-Sophie Mutter

Karajan conducts Bach – with Anne-Sophie Mutter

Berliner Philharmoniker

Production Date: 31/12/1984
56 Min

For the Berliner Philharmoniker's 1984 New Year's Eve concert, Herbert von Karajan turned to Bach on the eve of his 300th-anniversary year. Conducting from the harpsichord, Karajan is seen here more as a first among equals than in his usual role as maestro, directing performances of unapologetic grandeur. For the first work on the programme, the Violin Concerto in E major, BWV 1042, orchestra and conductor are joined by Anne-Sophie Mutter, who had begun working with Karajan in her early teens several years earlier. The concert concludes with the Magnificat, BWV 243, featuring the RIAS-Kammerchor and a fine quartet of soloists.

Francisco Araiza (Tenor), Judith Blegen (Soprano), Robert Holl (Bass), Helga Müller-Molinari (Mezzo-Soprano), Anne-Sophie Mutter (Violin)
Berliner Philharmoniker, RIAS Kammerchor
Herbert von Karajan

Venues, Festivals & Series