Karajan conducts Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1

Karajan conducts Tchaikovsky: Piano Concerto No. 1

Berliner Philharmoniker

Production Date: 10/04/1967
Available until: 31/12/2023
39 Min

Herbert von Karajan conducts the Berliner Philharmoniker in Tchaikovsky's ever-popular first piano concerto with, as soloist, Bulgarian-born pianist Alexis Weissenberg – whose career was revived after meeting Karajan in the 1960s. Filmed in the Philharmonie in Berlin in 1967, just four years after the hall was opened, with direction from Åke Falck, the performance is a fascinating document of not only an unusually symphonic approach to this most well-known of virtuoso warhorses but also of the innovative approaches to filming musical performance that Karajan often experimented with.

Alexis Weissenberg (Piano)
Berliner Philharmoniker
Herbert von Karajan