Europakonzert 1998 from Stockholm – with Claudio Abbado

Europakonzert 1998 from Stockholm – with Claudio Abbado

Berliner Philharmoniker

Production Date: 01/05/1998
100 Min

The 1998 Europakonzert saw the Berliner Philharmoniker and Claudio Abbado travel to the Swedish capital, Stockholm, to perform in the Vasa Museum, which since 1990 has housed the impeccably preserved 17th-century ship of that name, lost on her maiden voyage in 1628. And the first two works on the programme prove especially apt: Wagner's Overture to The Flying Dutchman and Tchaikovsky's rarely heard tone poem based on Shakespeare's The Tempest. The second half of the programme includes Debussy's Nocturnes and, with the Swedish Radio Choir and the Eric Ericson Chamber Choir, Verdi's imposing Quattro pezzi sacri.

Marie Alexis (Soprano)
Berliner Philharmoniker, Swedish Radio Choir, Eric Ericson Chamber Choir
Claudio Abbado