Bychkov conducts Beethoven and Strauss – with Lisa Batiashvili

Bychkov conducts Beethoven and Strauss – with Lisa Batiashvili

Czech Philharmonic

Production Date: 28/09/2022
107 Min
Available in 4K

Semyon Bychkov and the Czech Philharmonic Orchestra present a programme coupling Beethoven's lyrical Violin Concerto of 1806 with Richard Strauss's thrilling Alpensinfonie, first heard in 1915. For the Beethoven, conductor and orchestra are joined by Georgian violinist Lisa Batiashvili – one of the finest players of her generation and a musician ideally equipped for the work's special challenges. The orchestra's massed forces are then marshalled together for Strauss's enormous descriptive symphony, which melds a narrative of a day's alpine wandering with grand philosophical questions regarding man's relationship to nature to create one of the most overwhelming – and technically demanding – works in the orchestral repertoire.

Lisa Batiashvili (Violin)
Czech Philharmonic
Semyon Bychkov

Venues, Festivals & Series