Joana Mallwitz conducts Prokofiev, Weill & Mahler

Joana Mallwitz conducts Prokofiev, Weill & Mahler


Production Date: 31/08/2023
103 Min
Available in 4K

To open her first season as new chief conductor and artistic director of the Konzerthausorchester in Berlin, Joana Mallwitz chose the first symphonies of three very different composers – all written in the decades around 1900. The conductor – an exclusive Deutsche Grammophone artist since June 2023 – begins with Prokofiev's "Classical" Symphony, a brilliant early example of neo-classicism in 20th-century music. Kurt Weill's rarely heard First Symphony of 1921 follows, while to conclude comes Mahler's thrilling Symphony No. 1 of 1888, a work in which he all but redefined what the genre could be and represent. All in all, a perfect programme to launch a new era in Berlin's musical life!

Konzerthausorchester Berlin
Joana Mallwitz

Venues, Festivals & Series