Anne-Sophie Mutter & Andris Nelsons in Sibelius & Shostakovich

Anne-Sophie Mutter & Andris Nelsons in Sibelius & Shostakovich

Concertgebouw Orchestra

Production Date: 05/03/2015
103 Min

Elemental forces: pair the artistry of violinist Anne-Sophie Mutter with the epic vision and heartfelt commitment of the Latvian conductor Andris Nelsons, and the result can't fail to generate sparks. In March 2015 they came together with the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra to perform Sibelius's Violin Concerto; the result, said Süddeutsche Zeitung, was Sibelius played "on eight cylinders". Nelsons and the Concertgebouw follow the concerto with a monumental performance of Shostakovich's Tenth Symphony – widely regarded as one of Nelsons's signature interpretations. In the superb acoustic of Amsterdam's Concertgebouw, it makes a shattering impact “World-class, these exponents from Amsterdam” wrote the awestruck critic of the Südwest Presse.

Anne-Sophie Mutter (Violin)
Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra
Andris Nelsons

Venues, Festivals & Series