Opening Concert of the Isarphilharmonie – with Daniil Trifonov

Opening Concert of the Isarphilharmonie – with Daniil Trifonov

Munich Philharmonic

Production Date: 08/10/2021
108 Min

The Munich Philharmonic Orchestra celebrates the opening of the Isarphilharmonie – its new temporary home – in October 2021 with a programme spanning more than 200 years. The concert, conducted by then music director Valery Gergiev, opens with a new work commissioned especially for the occasion, Thierry Escaich's Arising Dances, and continues with Beethoven's lyrical Piano Concerto No. 4, featuring Daniil Trifonov as soloist. The second half features Henri Dutilleux's 1964 Métaboles as well as an extract from Rodion Shchedrin's 1988 choral suite Sealed Angel, featuring the Munich Philharmonic Choir. The choir then joins the orchestra for Ravel's enchanting Suite No. 2 from Daphnis et Chloé in a suitably rousing finale.

Daniil Trifonov (Piano)
Munich Philharmonic, Philharmonischer Chor München
Valery Gergiev

Venues, Festivals & Series