Martha Argerich & Friends

Martha Argerich & Friends

Münchner Klaviersommer

Production Date: 27/06/1982
84 Min

The greatest artists are often the most unselfish – and they don’t come much greater than Martha Argerich. Her generous, intensely musical personality is at the heart of this shared celebration of the joy of musical friendship, captured on the wing at the 1982 Münchner Klaviersommer. But she’s far from alone: Nelson Freire plays Debussy, Chopin and his own compositions before teaming up with Argerich for unforgettably poetic performances of Ravel’s La Valse and Rachmaninoff’s Suite No.2. Argerich also performs Mozart with the great Cypriot pianist Nicolas Economou and – as a magical encore – joins cellist Mischa Maisky in Schumann’s playful, deeply romantic Drei Fantasiestücke. The music of friends, touched by genius.

Martha Argerich (Piano), Nicolas Economou (Piano), Nelson Freire (Piano), Mischa Maisky (Cello)